Last week, over 400 community members joined us in celebrating shared successes in education, health, and financial stability. As part of the celebration, guests heard from Wendy Spencer, President and CEO of Leadership Florida. Additional program highlights included a detailed Year in Review, the 20th Anniversary Recognition of United Way's Tocqueville Society, and Award Recognition for partner agencies, donors, and volunteers!

Outgoing United Way Board Chair, David Peaden, opened the program remarking on the past year's impact on the community, "When factoring in the investment from our workplace campaigns to local nonprofit agencies and their program's results, in total we had an impact of $13.6 million that we were able to return to our community. As the outgoing Board Chair, I am proud and honored to have served with such an outstanding organization - one that is a true catalyst for life-altering change in the lives of Escambia County citizens."

United Way thanked special partners for helping leverage $2.97 million in funds to create an $11.4 million impact. An additional $2.24 million in matching dollars was drawn by nonprofit partners, resulting in a total community impact of $13.64 million for the 2016-17 year.

Interim President and CEO, Laura Hill, was honored to recognize the stellar contributions of following individuals and organizations:

RAYELL IRISH, COLOR A BRIGHTER WORLD:  Leslie Hunter-Huff, Boys and Girls Clubs of the Emerald Coast

UNITED WAY PARTNER AGENCY OF THE YEAR:  Legal Services of North Florida

BUSINESS PARTNER OF THE YEAR: West Florida Hospital       

UNITED WAY SERVICE AWARD: Momentus Films, Celia and Danny Hilton


At the annual meeting, United Way announced the 2017-18 Board of Directors who will lead community work: Officers: Yvette McLellan (Chair), Jack Lowrey (Chair Elect), Tammy Davies (Treasurer), Genevieve Harper (Secretary). The committee chairs are Tammy Davies (Women’s United Chair), John Floyd (Community Investment Chair), Oliver Sumlin (Nominating Chair), Jack Lowrey (Campaign Chair), KC Gartman (Community Impact Chair), Amy Miller (Campaign Co-chair), and Tim Stronko (Advocacy/211 Chair). Board Members elected to continued service included: Meri Asmar, Brett Bennett, Cedric Durre, Cathy England, John Hosman, Trip Maygarden, Jo McArthur, Matthew Shook, Johnathan Taylor, and Patrice Whitten. Board Members serving their first term for United Way include:  Daniel Joyner, Kevin Mair, Todd Phillips, BJ Roberts, and Carlton Ulmer.